Final Sónar 2017 acts announced

Final Sónar 2017 acts announced

Barcelona’s Sónar has announced a final list of artists booked for this year’s festival, taking place across the city on June 14-17.

A six-hour set from Masters at Work, Derrick Carter, Icelandic hip-hopper Sturla Atlas and Mykki Blanco associate Yves Tumor are among the new additions.

Previously announced names include Thundercat, Cerrone, DAWN, Robert Hood, Justice, Nicolar Jaar and De La Soul, in addition to a brand new stage for 2017 dedicated to “digital reggaeton, noise collage, dancehall and the latest innovations in the constantly evolving trap sound” featuring sets from Total Freedom and Swing Ting’s Florentino.

The festival’s concurrent tech conference, Sónar+D, will be exploring the themes of artificial intelligence and virtual reality, and headed up by an “interdisciplinary project” featuring legendary electronic outfit Dopplereffekt concerning “the origin and end of the universe“.

The festival’s Hong Kong counterpart kicked off earlier this month, with triumphant turns from DJ Shadow, Gilles Peterson, and Lady Leshurr.

Music Crowns

Music Crowns is an online magazine for indy and unsigned music stars from across the globe. We are also an opportunities and promotion hub for the independent and unsigned music community.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.